I wish I was…

When I was in the member committee of AIESEC Tunisia, I once designed a leadership session in 2 parts for the Tunisian Leadership development Seminar. The first part was a “personal objectives” session and the second was a leadership session. The aim was to encourage AIESEC members to define their objectives in life and set their personal vision, as a first step in becoming a positive agent of change and a leader.

I am particularly proud of this session as it is an eye opening experience. A large portion of people don’t take time to think about their long term future before taking very important decisions such as choosing a degree, a university, a career, a place to settle down… The feedback from the delegates was exciting; they said it was an inspiring experience.

I started the session with Pearl Jam’s song “Wishlist” , I love this song with all its “I wish I was…” The song was complemented by a power point presentation with the song lyrics and visuals so the delegates can get the whole meaning of the lyrics (considering English is only the third language learnt in school and not that practiced in Tunisia).

Then 3 questions, one at a time. Asking the delegates to describe their life in 20 years… what they have to go through in those 20 years to get to that situation… then what they have to do now to start making their vision of their future real. They were given 15 minutes to think about each question. I was playing Pink Floyd songs while they were spread all over the plenary. In the beginning a few delegates were fooling around, thinking it was absolute bullshit… it was fun to see them submerge slowly slowly in their thoughts as the session went on… I was enjoying it.

When I did it myself, I was picturing myself at 40 years old surrounded by a beautiful family. I was successful in my career and preparing to retire in order to open a small restaurant and start writing. My ultimate goal in life is to write, I think it is the most beautiful thing: creation.

My immediate goal was to focus on a business career, thinking it was the right way to go to ensure a decent life. I had to go against what I was really interested in: literature but mainly history and geopolitics as their path was leading no where back home. As teaching or academic oriented jobs are not paid well, even after many years of studies and research… I know something about it.

So I preferred the more secure way… I don’t regret it cause’ it shaped my path so far and I could have all these experiences, meet AIESEC and learn so much about life, cultures and myself.

But what If I was in another place, another time… what would I wish to be!?

I wish I was a teacher… to help build the future generations…
I wish I was a poet… to spread love around me…
I wish I was a guitar player… to sublime people’s minds…
I wish I was a movie director… a writer… a novelist… to inspire people…
I wish I was a radio DJ… to share my love for music

I wish I was a neutron bomb, for once I could go off…
I wish I was a sacrifice, but somehow still lived on…
I wish I was the evidence, I wish I was the grounds…
I wish I was a messenger and all the news was good…
I wish I was the verb ‘to trust’ and never let you down…
I wish…I wish…

A.

 

This entry was posted in Cultural stuff, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I wish I was…

  1. siz says:

    Oh! You were in the Tunisian MC? When was that?? I am a CEEDer working for the Tunisian MC now. We should definitely catch up!!😀

  2. A. says:

    I had 2 terms in the Tunisian MC, from 2000 to 2002. I left a comment on your blog… hopefully, I hope it will be approved. A.

  3. siz says:

    It is approved… and you should see my reply to it ;)Siska

  4. VeryApeAZ says:

    Very cool post. I think I might try that exercise myself. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. Polina says:

    Hello there– the man who loves women. I have to say that was genuinely beautiful and inspiring. I guess your wishes are coming true one by one, cause you can’t stop the winds😉

  6. Amor says:

    Hi Anis,why is the official tunisan website so … crappy ?do you still have contact with the MC memebers ?

  7. A. says:

    Sahha Amor thx for the visit, I don’t know what website you’re talking about ! I don’t have contact with the current MC members but I do with those of previous years, I’m growing old😉

Leave a Reply

