Elevation…

LedZeppelinElevation

There are tens of songs that I really like while there are a few that stand in a different category, I call them the “hold on a minute, I am listening” songs. They have the power of kind of pausing my life for a few minutes cause’ I can’t do something else while I am listening to them…

I would be pleased if you could share yours with me, maybe I can discover wonderful songs I never heard before… here are mine:

1 – Since I’ve been loving you – Led Zeppelin
From the first note to the last one, I AM HYPNOTIZED, just to summarize the effect of this song on me. It is like the perfect combination of a great guitar by Jimmy Page and a breathtaking vocal performance by Robert Plant. And even though I have no personal experience or memories to associate with this song, it makes me feel like it is my own story every single time I listen to it.

You better not play this one when I am around cause’ I will be away for 6 minutes… Shut up Eduardo, I am serious shut UP!!!!😉

2 – Shine on you crazy diamond – Pink Floyd
A theatrical piece of 13 minutes, listening to it is like watching a play in several parts. An instrumental intro of 8.45 minutes where the superb guitar of David Guilmour takes you upside down, sweet…

You better not play this one too🙂

Well, there is a tough competition for the third position; I really can’t make up my mind between the songs below (in no specific order):

Pearl Jam & Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan – Long Road
Should be played loud, the notes of the sitar and the voice of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan literally give me shivers. Eddies Vedder’s performance is great and the lyrics are wonderful.

School – Supertramp
Only for the keyboard solo at the end, probably the best keyboard solo ever, I can’t avoid playing air keyboard like a crazy every time I hear it.

The great gig in the sky – Pink Floyd
Simply astonishing, nothing more to say. One of the best vocal performances I have ever heard. Shivers shivers… I can’t believe the singer hired by Pink Floyd for this song apologized after the first try cause’ she thought it was really bad. They only recorded it once, It was the one.

Roger Waters – Perfect sens (part I and II)
A very deep song, the lyrics are so meaningful. The piano notes are subtle and smooth while Waters talks, then the female voice takes you somewhere else. This song is so true and beautiful that it makes it painful to listen to… “Can’t you see it all makes perfect sense!?”

Terence Trent D’arby – Holding on to you
First time I heard it, it was in a recorded live performance… TTD went off, he entered in a kind of trance and started saying poetry, and then out of a sudden he yelled a shaking scream while the guitar player started a beautiful solo, it was improvised, wow. If I just can get my hands on this performance again. Definitely a great song, a wonderful poem, an amazing vocal performance and a very nice guitar solo.

Fairouz – Zahrat al madaaen
I avoid listening to this one cause its effect on me is a mix of sadness, anger and usefulness. A very beautiful and powerful one…

War – Bob Marley
This song is based on the speech presented by Haile Silassie, king of Ethiopia in an UN session. He was considered by the Rastafarians the king of kings that would deliver black people from Babylon and bring them back to the Promised Land.

There is a famous picture of Bob Marley, throwing his arm in the air, looking to the sky and standing still. It was taken at a live performance while singing “War”. He literally stood still in that position for 10 seconds as if the picture was paused, while you could see the wailers moving in the back, he was in the zone.

Waiting for your songs…

A.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Elevation…

  1. A. says:

    Haile Selassie’s speech to the UNhttp://www.bobmarley.com/life/rastafari/war_speech.html

  2. Dude, excellent choice of songs… And excellent comments for every one. Sadly I did not find my Robert Plant ticket, but I was able to buy another one. I figure, I won’t have the chance to see him in the near future, so 20TND is not gonna empover me…. Very nice blog, I’m sure I’ll come back often.

  3. eyy, anybody listen this songs due are a really piece of shit. im only joking men, be care

  4. te agregue a mis links de interes cabrónun abrazo tronco

  5. A. says:

    Gracias Mauro, ya voy hacer lo mismo. Nos vemos en Pucela, tal vez durante las ferias con suerte…Un abrazo A.

  6. Leilouta says:

    Fairouz – Zahrat al madaaen. I love that song. It reminds me of my childhood when my father used to play it at home in the morning.

  7. Hmm… Top of my head, I’d say “Fearless” and “Wish You Were Here” and “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” by Pink Floyd, “Stairway to Heaven” and “Dazed and Confused” Led Zeppelin, “Don’t cry” Guns n’ Roses, “Unforgiven” Metallica, “Bohemian Rhapsody” Queen, “Quand on n’a que l’amour” Jacques Brel, “Insomnia” by Faithless… Don’t ask me to put them in a top 10 format, because that would be torture…

  8. A. says:

    Nice songs jojo, I particularly love Jaques Brel… quick story about that:I used to let my radio alarm start an hour before I have to wake up coz I love to have a half sleep while music is playing… One day Houria (RTCI) plays “Ces gens la” I was totally asleep, I found myself sitting on the edge of the bed until the song was over… very beautiful song…Quand on n’a que l’amour à s’offrir en partage… thank you for coming backA.

  9. Angie says:

    Ay ay ay, i really had to comment on this one and for a moment, i thought i had missed my chance :)Hmmm.. i think i have many, so its kinda tough to come up with them, but ill give it a shot (in alphabetical order :p):Aerosmith – Dream OnFranz Ferdinand – Darts of PleasureGuns N Roses – EstrangedKashmir – LampshadeKent – Sundance KidMano Negra – Mala VidaPearl Jam – BlackPink Floyd – Wish You Were HereRolling Stones – Under My Thumb & Paint It BlackSkid Row – In a Darkened RoomSmashing Pumpkins – In The Arms of SleepSnow Patrol – RunStarsailor – Tie Up My HandsSorry, i got carried away… Thats it for now ;)/A

Leave a Reply

